SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 

Newbie Help. Hardware and Topology

 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    FirstSpot Forum Index -> Pre-sales Support Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
premitec



Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 2:44 pm    
Post subject: Newbie Help. Hardware and Topology

Hi, Great site and the software appears to be what I need.

I want to use firstspot in one centre location and have a large number of hotspot sites.
I have read nearly every topic that relates to this and found one that looks like what I want.
http://www.patronsoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=153&view=next

I am new to networking so please bear with me.

At each hotspot location:
client machines == APs == low-cost router with VPN function == INTERNET

At the centralized site:
INTERNET == VPN router == FirstSpot server == an uplink pipe to the Internet


This appears to be what i want but am unsure of the hardware I need.

My question relating to the previous mentioned topic.

Hotspot location.
1. There appears to be no computer at the hotspot location other than client machines which I assume are the people that want to use the service. Does this mean the hotspot location does not require a Computer.
2. The Ap and vpn router, can I use an all in one or do they have to be seperated.
3. How does the modem connect.

Centralized Site.
1. There are appears to be 2 internet connections and one being an uplink pipe. What is an uplink pipe and why 2 internet connections.

I am understanding this slowly and confidently but need to clear up these misunderstandings before I can continue.
The topology scenarios I have viewed but do not fully understand.

APs --- router ---- private line ---- |
APs --- router ---- private line ---- | -- FirstSpot Adv Ed. ---- Internet
APs --- router ---- private line ---- |

This scenario also looks best suited but would I need a dedicated line at each hotspot. Also what hardware would be needed. Do I need vpn's. If I am asking the wrong questions what would I need to do to acheive this solution.

Also can anyone please advise on what brands of hardware I could use for my prefered solutions.
All help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Les
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4413

PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 3:34 am    
Post subject:

Scenerio 3 : Centralized Network Topology is relatively complicated. The easiest way is to use private line (i.e. dedicated line). You don't need VPN in this case.

Alternatively, you can use VPN to mimic the dedicated line. Note the followings:
1) For the Hotspot site, you need a VPN that supports "non-split" tunnel. ZyWall 10 is one of them
2) For the centralized site (which you will install FirstSpot Advanced Edition), our existing customers had reported some success using Cisco PIX or even Linux as VPN concentrator.
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
premitec



Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 7:59 am    
Post subject:

Thanks for the quick reply.

If I were to use this scenario.

APs --- VPN box-- internet --- |
APs --- VPN box-- internet --- | -Internet --- VPN box -- FirstSpot Adv. Ed. ------- Internet
APs --- VPN box-- internet --- |

Can I use an all in one ap, vpn and modem rather than seperate ones.
And what is the minimum spec machines required at both sides.

Could you explain a bit more about these please as I don't fully understand the meanings.
1. "non-split" tunnel vpn.
2. Cisco PIX or even Linux as VPN concentrator
3 Internet connection at central station. There are 2 internet connections, can these both be adsl and what speed must it be at both ends.

Thanks, Les
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4413

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 2:38 am    
Post subject:

continued on http://www.patronsoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=423
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    FirstSpot Forum Index -> Pre-sales Support Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group