SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 

Problems restarting Firstspot

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    FirstSpot Forum Index -> Pre-sales Support Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
watertime



Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 12:20 pm    
Post subject: Problems restarting Firstspot

After we stop firstspot it will not restart untill the machine is rebooted. I seen this discussed in a thread but you only talked about a bug. Is there a correction for this?


Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4400

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 4:07 pm    
Post subject:

Please post your ipconfig/all output, config.ini and your FirstSpot debug log (under FirstSpot\log directory), thanks.

Just wondering, which thread are you referring too?
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4400

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 3:04 pm    
Post subject:

We are able to reproduce a similar problem in our lab. Here are the conditions for this problem to happen:

1) You are running FirstSpot 2.1.8 or above
2) You select a network card with Offloading feature as FirstSpot "Private Network Interface" (e.g. network card with 3Com, Intel or Marvell chipset)

Steps to reproduce the problem:
1) Start FirstSpot normally
2) Trigger some traffic from the client side. E.g. client logins and then surf the web
3) logout the user
4) shutdown FirstSpot
5) start FirstSpot again. This time FirstSpot will be unable to start. You need to reboot Windows to start FirstSpot again. (One more symptom to identify this problem is that you should see a process called "firstspotcon.exe" in the Windows task list and it stays there. Normally, this process will run and disappear within several seconds during FirstSpot startup).

We will issue a fix in the upcoming 2.1.x update on this problem. In the meantime, try to workaround the problem by selecting network card without Offloading feature as FirstSpot "Private Network Interface" (e.g. network card with Realtek, SiS chipset)
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4400

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:07 am    
Post subject:

This problem is fixed in 2.1.11 (see http://www.patronsoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=139 for 2.1.x minor version history).
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    FirstSpot Forum Index -> Pre-sales Support Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group