SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 

DNS Problem within Firstspot
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    FirstSpot Forum Index -> Pre-sales Support Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Crusher



Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 5:24 pm    
Post subject: DNS Problem within Firstspot

I am using Firstspot Premium Edition v6.0.6 and setting it up on a new machine before final implementation in production.

My problem is that when browsing the internet my client machine often returns an error message saying "Server cannot be found" indicating there is a DNS problem. What is strange is that if I hit the "Try again" button, it will then go to the correct website [u] every single time[/u]. This problem does not occur if I browse directly from the Firstspot machine.
If I remove the Firstspot machine and connect directly through my wireless router to the internet I never get this message, so my connections are working correctly. [b]I only get this problem when I am going through the Firstspot system.[/b]

My DNS is set to 208.67.222.222 (single entry) on the Public adapter. This is a highly reliable OpenDNS server, and it is not causing this problem.

Any suggestions or help would be much appreciated. I need to clear up this problem before I can move this into production.[/u]
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4381

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 5:31 pm    
Post subject:

You need to use nslookup command to confirm that this is a DNS problem. Try to reproduce the problem using the below command in the client PC:

nslookup
set d2
apple.com

You need to make sure there is an error in order to confirm this is an DNS problem.
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
Crusher



Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 5:44 pm    
Post subject:

Hi Alan, thanks for the quick response.
I'm not sure exactly what you are wanting here. Are you suggesting I do the nslookup only when I receive the "Server not found" error? Because this problem is only sporadic, if I do the nslookup it is going to show the correct information 90% of the time, and I'm not sure what it will show the other 10% of the time. As I mentioned, it will always go to the correct site and give no error message on the second attempt.
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4381

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 5:53 pm    
Post subject:

Please post the client nslookup output (with error) here.

BTW, maybe your network is not stable? Please use the command "ping -t" to double-check.
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
Crusher



Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 6:13 pm    
Post subject:

OK, here's the results from the nslookup from a client machine.

Also, I'm sure my network is stable, as the problem will ONLY occur from a client machine going through Firstspot. It will not happen from the Firstspot machine itself, nor from a client machine that does not go through Firstspot.

Thanks for our assistance in this!!!

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Murray>nslookup
Default Server: firstspot.org
Address: 10.20.7.1

> set d2
> apple.com
Server: firstspot.org
Address: 10.20.7.1

------------
SendRequest(), len 41
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 2, rcode = NOERROR
header flags: query, want recursion
questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 0, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com.firstspot.org, type = A, class = IN

------------
------------
Got answer (86 bytes):
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 2, rcode = NXDOMAIN
header flags: response, auth. answer, want recursion, recursion avail.
questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 1, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com.firstspot.org, type = A, class = IN
AUTHORITY RECORDS:
-> firstspot.org
type = SOA, class = IN, dlen = 33
ttl = 5 (5 secs)
primary name server = ns1.firstspot.org
responsible mail addr = root.firstspot.org
serial = 2
refresh = 28800 (8 hours)
retry = 7200 (2 hours)
expire = 604800 (7 days)
default TTL = 86400 (1 day)

------------
------------
SendRequest(), len 41
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 3, rcode = NOERROR
header flags: query, want recursion
questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 0, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com.firstspot.org, type = AAAA, class = IN

------------
------------
Got answer (86 bytes):
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 3, rcode = NXDOMAIN
header flags: response, auth. answer, want recursion, recursion avail.
questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 1, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com.firstspot.org, type = AAAA, class = IN
AUTHORITY RECORDS:
-> firstspot.org
type = SOA, class = IN, dlen = 33
ttl = 5 (5 secs)
primary name server = ns1.firstspot.org
responsible mail addr = root.firstspot.org
serial = 2
refresh = 28800 (8 hours)
retry = 7200 (2 hours)
expire = 604800 (7 days)
default TTL = 86400 (1 day)

------------
------------
SendRequest(), len 27
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 4, rcode = NOERROR
header flags: query, want recursion
questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 0, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com, type = A, class = IN

------------
------------
Got answer (286 bytes):
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 4, rcode = NOERROR
header flags: response, want recursion, recursion avail.
questions = 1, answers = 3, authority records = 13, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com, type = A, class = IN
ANSWERS:
-> apple.com
type = A, class = IN, dlen = 4
internet address = 17.112.152.57
ttl = 2011 (33 mins 31 secs)
-> apple.com
type = A, class = IN, dlen = 4
internet address = 17.149.160.49
ttl = 2011 (33 mins 31 secs)
-> apple.com
type = A, class = IN, dlen = 4
internet address = 17.251.200.70
ttl = 2011 (33 mins 31 secs)
AUTHORITY RECORDS:
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 20
nameserver = g.root-servers.net
ttl = 515710 (5 days 23 hours 15 mins 10 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = c.root-servers.net
ttl = 515710 (5 days 23 hours 15 mins 10 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = m.root-servers.net
ttl = 515710 (5 days 23 hours 15 mins 10 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = h.root-servers.net
ttl = 515710 (5 days 23 hours 15 mins 10 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = l.root-servers.net
ttl = 515710 (5 days 23 hours 15 mins 10 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = f.root-servers.net
ttl = 515710 (5 days 23 hours 15 mins 10 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = k.root-servers.net
ttl = 515710 (5 days 23 hours 15 mins 10 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = d.root-servers.net
ttl = 515710 (5 days 23 hours 15 mins 10 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = a.root-servers.net
ttl = 515710 (5 days 23 hours 15 mins 10 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = j.root-servers.net
ttl = 515710 (5 days 23 hours 15 mins 10 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = e.root-servers.net
ttl = 515710 (5 days 23 hours 15 mins 10 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = b.root-servers.net
ttl = 515710 (5 days 23 hours 15 mins 10 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = i.root-servers.net
ttl = 515710 (5 days 23 hours 15 mins 10 secs)

------------
Non-authoritative answer:
------------
SendRequest(), len 27
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 5, rcode = NOERROR
header flags: query, want recursion
questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 0, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com, type = AAAA, class = IN

------------
------------
Got answer (27 bytes):
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 5, rcode = NOERROR
header flags: response, want recursion, recursion avail.
questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 0, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com, type = AAAA, class = IN

------------
Name: apple.com
Addresses: 17.112.152.57
17.149.160.49
17.251.200.70

>
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4381

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 6:18 pm    
Post subject:

There are no errors in this nslookup.
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
Crusher



Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 6:26 pm    
Post subject:

I didn't think there would be. This problem is intermittent and in order for there to be a problem showing on nslookup I would have to run that command at the time that the sporadic problem is occurring.....no?

So, given that this problem only occurs on a client machine going through Firstspot, are you saying it is not a Firstspot problem? If so, I really don't understand where else or what else the problem could be.
Back to top
Crusher



Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 8:03 pm    
Post subject:

I just had the problem again from my Firstspot client machine. I did the nslookup before I hit the "Try again" button and I got the same nslookup info as before, I think. Here is the info I got just now:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Murray>nslookup
Default Server: firstspot.org
Address: 10.20.7.1

> set d2
> apple.com
Server: firstspot.org
Address: 10.20.7.1

------------
SendRequest(), len 41
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 2, rcode = NOERROR
header flags: query, want recursion
questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 0, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com.firstspot.org, type = A, class = IN

------------
------------
Got answer (86 bytes):
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 2, rcode = NXDOMAIN
header flags: response, auth. answer, want recursion, recursion avail.
questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 1, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com.firstspot.org, type = A, class = IN
AUTHORITY RECORDS:
-> firstspot.org
type = SOA, class = IN, dlen = 33
ttl = 5 (5 secs)
primary name server = ns1.firstspot.org
responsible mail addr = root.firstspot.org
serial = 2
refresh = 28800 (8 hours)
retry = 7200 (2 hours)
expire = 604800 (7 days)
default TTL = 86400 (1 day)

------------
------------
SendRequest(), len 41
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 3, rcode = NOERROR
header flags: query, want recursion
questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 0, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com.firstspot.org, type = AAAA, class = IN

------------
------------
Got answer (86 bytes):
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 3, rcode = NXDOMAIN
header flags: response, auth. answer, want recursion, recursion avail.
questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 1, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com.firstspot.org, type = AAAA, class = IN
AUTHORITY RECORDS:
-> firstspot.org
type = SOA, class = IN, dlen = 33
ttl = 5 (5 secs)
primary name server = ns1.firstspot.org
responsible mail addr = root.firstspot.org
serial = 2
refresh = 28800 (8 hours)
retry = 7200 (2 hours)
expire = 604800 (7 days)
default TTL = 86400 (1 day)

------------
------------
SendRequest(), len 27
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 4, rcode = NOERROR
header flags: query, want recursion
questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 0, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com, type = A, class = IN

------------
------------
Got answer (286 bytes):
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 4, rcode = NOERROR
header flags: response, want recursion, recursion avail.
questions = 1, answers = 3, authority records = 13, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com, type = A, class = IN
ANSWERS:
-> apple.com
type = A, class = IN, dlen = 4
internet address = 17.251.200.70
ttl = 2347 (39 mins 7 secs)
-> apple.com
type = A, class = IN, dlen = 4
internet address = 17.112.152.57
ttl = 2347 (39 mins 7 secs)
-> apple.com
type = A, class = IN, dlen = 4
internet address = 17.149.160.49
ttl = 2347 (39 mins 7 secs)
AUTHORITY RECORDS:
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 20
nameserver = e.root-servers.net
ttl = 509095 (5 days 21 hours 24 mins 55 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = l.root-servers.net
ttl = 509095 (5 days 21 hours 24 mins 55 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = g.root-servers.net
ttl = 509095 (5 days 21 hours 24 mins 55 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = j.root-servers.net
ttl = 509095 (5 days 21 hours 24 mins 55 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = h.root-servers.net
ttl = 509095 (5 days 21 hours 24 mins 55 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = f.root-servers.net
ttl = 509095 (5 days 21 hours 24 mins 55 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = k.root-servers.net
ttl = 509095 (5 days 21 hours 24 mins 55 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = a.root-servers.net
ttl = 509095 (5 days 21 hours 24 mins 55 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = m.root-servers.net
ttl = 509095 (5 days 21 hours 24 mins 55 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = i.root-servers.net
ttl = 509095 (5 days 21 hours 24 mins 55 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = c.root-servers.net
ttl = 509095 (5 days 21 hours 24 mins 55 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = d.root-servers.net
ttl = 509095 (5 days 21 hours 24 mins 55 secs)
-> (root)
type = NS, class = IN, dlen = 4
nameserver = b.root-servers.net
ttl = 509095 (5 days 21 hours 24 mins 55 secs)

------------
Non-authoritative answer:
------------
SendRequest(), len 27
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 5, rcode = NOERROR
header flags: query, want recursion
questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 0, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com, type = AAAA, class = IN

------------
------------
Got answer (27 bytes):
HEADER:
opcode = QUERY, id = 5, rcode = NOERROR
header flags: response, want recursion, recursion avail.
questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 0, additional = 0

QUESTIONS:
apple.com, type = AAAA, class = IN

------------
Name: apple.com
Addresses: 17.251.200.70
17.112.152.57
17.149.160.49

>
Back to top
Crusher



Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 6:32 pm    
Post subject:

Alan, do you have any suggestions for resolving this issue?
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4381

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:40 am    
Post subject:

Doesn't look like DNS problem (unless you can reproduce it using nslookup). There are many reasons that will cause your problem, please try:

1) clean the cache of your client browser and try again. Also, you might want to use different browser to test

2) use command "ping -t Visitor_NIC_IP" to keep testing the reliability of your network

3) maybe you can turn off NAT within FirstSpot as a test. Refer to chapter 3 of firstspot_guide.pdf for instruction
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
Crusher



Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:38 pm    
Post subject:

Thanks Alan. I tried all the things you suggest and still no improvement. When I have my laptop connected to the internet without Firstspot, I use the OpenDNS server at 208.67.222.222 and all works well. As soon as I use Firstspot, it changes the DNS for clients to the Firstspot machine at 10.20.7.1 and the problems begin. This still somehow looks to me like a DNS problem within Firstspot.
I've now changed my DNS IP for the Visitor Network to the OpenDNS server at 208.67.222.222. I'll try that for a while and see if anything improves. I realize that this will prevent the use of Keywords.... are there any other things that are affected by doing this?

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4381

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:57 pm    
Post subject:

Your test is not an accurate test. It does not prove that there is problem with FirstSpot DNS server. It might be caused by the compatibility between two DNS, network problem, etc... Again, the only way to confirm there is a DNS problem is to use the nslookup command.

Yes, the client can use third party DNS server. Apart from Instant Keywords, all other features should not be affected.
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
Crusher



Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:23 pm    
Post subject:

Well I dunno.....if it looks like a duck, and walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck.......... :roll:

Perhaps I didn't word my initial inquiry correctly. Instead of saying this is a problem with DNS within Firstspot, I should have just said it is a problem with Firstspot. That problem is that when the DNS on the client machine is set to the Default Setting of 10.20.7.1 it returns sporadic error messages that the site can't be found, on a fairly frequent basis. This error message is NOT repeated when you hit the Try Again button. I assumed this was a DNS error, but if you say it ain't so then it ain't so, but there is still some sort of error. Since this only happens when Firstspot is in the loop, I have to suspect that the problem is related to Firstspot.
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4381

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:34 pm    
Post subject:

Yes, it is related FirstSpot of course, but it might not be caused by FirstSpot.

To dig out the root cause of the problem, we need a specific error message given out by network commands like ping, nslookup, tracert, etc... A general error like "site cannot be found" can be caused by many reasons and it does not really move closer to solve the problem.
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
Crusher



Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 4:15 pm    
Post subject:

Well sorry to say this Alan, but I think you are dead wrong on this issue.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I decided to try changing the DNS IP for the Visitor Network to to see if that would make any difference. It certainly did.
Prior to this change, I would get 10-20 "Server cannot be found" errors in a 2 hour browsing session on the internet from my client machine, with the DNS set to the Firstspot DNS server at 10.20.7.1. After changing the Visitor Network DNS IP to the OpenDNS server at 208.67.222.222 three days ago, I have not had a single error.
While I suspect you probably won't admit it, I don't think there is any reasonable conclusion that could be drawn from this other than "this is a problem/glitch within Firstspot".
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    FirstSpot Forum Index -> Pre-sales Support Forum All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group