SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 

Software solution for WISP

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    FirstSpot Forum Index -> Pre-sales Support Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
impactdirect



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Location: Houston, TX USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:58 pm    
Post subject: Software solution for WISP

I'm a small WISP looking for a software to manage my customer billing and security. I have seen your demo but it looks like my customers will have to login everytime they try to get online. I have residential customers who pay by the month for usage and they don't like to sign in everytime they go online. Can we setup a monthly rate which the cusotmer will pay for on the homepage when they go online and after they paid the internet service will be open for the duration of thier time without having to login again until they hit the end of the month where they will have to pay again?

Thanks,

Impact Direct
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4413

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:43 am    
Post subject:

First for explicit login, you can use Passive Login so that the client doesn't have to login every time. You need to know the client MAC in advance.

For monthly payment, you need to setup a customized page which collect payment (what payment method do you use?) and then update that particular user's "edate" field in table fsusr (see chapter 5 & 10 of firstspot_guide.pdf).
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
impactdirect



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Location: Houston, TX USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:32 pm    
Post subject:

I use the Ubiquiti products as my infrastructure to deliver wireless internet to my customers. With that in mind, do I enter in the mac address of the Ubiquiti bridge I issue to customer or do I enter in the mac address of the customers router, or do I enter in the customer computer mac address.

Thanks,
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4413

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:42 pm    
Post subject:

Assuming there are no routers between client and FirstSpot (i.e. only bridges and switches in between that won't hide the client MAC address), you need to enter customer computer MAC address.
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    FirstSpot Forum Index -> Pre-sales Support Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group