SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 

installation on Win2012R2? Windows Firewall enough

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    FirstSpot Forum Index -> Pre-sales Support Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
medzoom



Joined: 27 Dec 2011
Posts: 45
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:01 pm    
Post subject: installation on Win2012R2? Windows Firewall enough

According an old 2003 FAQ here in the forum
Quote:
<how to secure Firstspot?>
is this document still valid for an new installation on Win 2012 R2 Server? Will the embedded windows firewall be enough secure?

I now use the firstspot on an cheap retailer-PC with Win7 PC and it sometimes stucks itself. It could be an hardware problem - I dont know. Now I will migrate to an proprietary DELL-Server and hope those problems will end at all.

best regards

medzoom
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4413

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:15 pm    
Post subject:

Yes, you can use the Windows Firewall and it should be sufficient.
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
medzoom



Joined: 27 Dec 2011
Posts: 45
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 12:59 pm    
Post subject:

Thanks... everything went well. The new server runs much smoother javascript:emoticon('Very Happy')

=> to the WindowsFirewall and the configuration of the ports:
it is written that firstspot uses 25, 53, 80, 443, 5786-5799, 5801-5805 ports.

Does it mean, that when the guest on the WLAN uses securePop3 995 it does not work?

Is Firstspot acting therefor like an real proxy just for the defined ports? or when I a activate in the firewall the port 995, firstspot will recognise it and forward it to the internet like an proxy?

best regards

medzoom
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4413

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:08 pm    
Post subject:

No, FirstSpot acts like a router.
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
medzoom



Joined: 27 Dec 2011
Posts: 45
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:28 pm    
Post subject:

Sorry.. dont get it..

meens this, all ports will be routed - wheather they are on the firewall defined or not - and only the above ports of the defined firefall will talk to the firstspot-software itself?
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4413

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2016 4:32 am    
Post subject:

Only if the packet's destination IP is FirstSpot itself will be blocked by Windows Firewall. All other packets will go through the Firewall and route to the Internet by FirstSpot and Windows.
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    FirstSpot Forum Index -> Pre-sales Support Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group